About Art Competition:

We would like to invite Artists to enter the Arnold Classic Africa Art Competition. The Arnold Classic Africa is an annual multi-sport event celebrating 50+ sporting codes.  It is named after the legendary professional body-builder, Arnold Schwarzenegger who will be at the event for the 3 days. Arnold Schwarzenegger will also visit the Art Competition at the event.


Weekend program:

Art at the Arnold is three-days of drawing & painting.


Friday:  Artists be required to go around the venue and take a picture of any activity at the event. Artists are allowed to start on their drawing/ painting.

Saturday: Artists start on their drawing/ painting.

Sunday: Artists continue with their artwork until 15:00 and the judging will start at 16:00.


Can I enter and how do I enter:

How it will work:

To enter the competition, there is a NON REFUNDABLE entry fee of R100.

You will have to send us 1 picture of your artwork we can put on our website.

Participants will be required to be at the event from 18 -20 May 2018 and make a drawing or painting of any activity that will be happening at the event.

Participants will have to bring their own design material to draw or paint, ex. oil paint, charcoal, coffee, acrylic.

Space is limited to only 50 artists.


Dates: 18 -20 May 2018

Venue: Sandton Convention Centre


The Top 5 winners will be selected on Sunday 20 May 2018 and prizes are as follows:

  R 5 000 – First prize winner

  R 2 000 – Second prize winner

  R1 500 – Third prize winner

  R 1000 – Third prize winner

  R  500  – Fourth prize winner


Deadline to enter the Arnold Art Competition is 1 May 2018; we won’t take anymore artists once we have reached 50 entries.

Contact Information: or

012 653 2960


#ArtAtTheArnold2 807 7000


Jacob Polelo Huma

27 years old

Medium: Smoke art (Candle)


Art Background:

  • Sasol new signature competitions 2017

Nicholas Bastiaanse

32 years old

Medium: Charcoal


Competed in: Sanlam Portrait Awards

Art Background:

  • NIC & NSC at the National School of the arts (2002 - 2003)
  • National Diploma in Fine & Applied Arts majoring in Painting & Glass making (2004 - 2006)

Maria Bronkhorst

54 years old

Medium: Acrylic


Competed in: Olympic's Art Competition 2019 in progress

Art Background:

  • Doing acrylic paintings for the past 23 years

Designed by Tanya van der Walt